top of page

SPAIN (PART 3)


There are two things in my life that are very important to me: food and music. Luckily Sevilla is a hotspot for both.

I've become an avid coffee drinker since I got to Sevilla. Let me tell you, Spain's espresso game is on point. I'm getting pretty snobby about my coffee. In the U.S. we're accustomed to black coffee or ristretto, which is super concentrated black coffee treated like espresso. The coffee here is excellent -- even Starbucks is different. It's less bitter and has more flavor. The flavorings are less sweet too. At home I find myself getting extra caramel in my coffee to add flavor even though it's too sweet, but here it's just right. I also discovered my gastronomical soul mate -- Amorino.

Amorino is a high-end chain cafe with several locations in Spain, including two in Seville. It serves some truly excellent coffee as well as delicious pastries, desserts, macarons, a dozen flavors of hot chocolate, and gelato that is served scooped into the shape of a flower. My favorite flavor is a chocolate-hazelnut combo called L'Inimitabile. I'm also a little in love with their croissants. If we don't get an Amorino in Wisconsin, I might actually fly out to New York or L.A. or Boston to get my affogato fix.

I've also had some excellent tapas, including some really good risotto and tortilla de patatas from a restaurant called Genova right across from Sevilla Cathedral. I heard the tinto de verano (essentially red wine with Sprite) is excellent as well. I strongly recommend Genova for dinner.

As for the dancing, it's very different from anything I've done before. I was trained as a ballerina and a tap dancer from a very young age and have over 15 years experience with each, but sevillana is another species entirely. Watching me do sevillana is like watching a cow run on wet concrete, which, trust me, is not a pretty sight. Sevillana is similar to flamenco, although the people of Sevilla are adamant that they are two distinct types of dance. Sevilla involves a lot of fancy arm and hand movements and stomping, both of which are completely contrary to all my classical ballet training, but I absolutely love it. I was getting so good at it until we had to do the arms and the steps at the same time, but dancing with a partner really helps, because the dance involves a lot of trading places with each other. So far I have not fallen flat on my face (knock on wood), so I consider it a success.

I also had the chance to visit some Roman ruins that stand under the Metropol Parasol, a large mushroom-shaped structure that towers over the buildings in the El Centro neighborhood to give an incredible view of the entire city. It costs only €3 to take the elevator all the way to the top and walk around the incredible structure for as long as you want. The ticket includes a free drink to be redeemed at the rooftop cafe and bar or at one of the several bars located in the shopping center beneath the Metropol Parasol. The view from the top presents a striking contrast between ancient cathedrals, historic homes outfitted with modern television antennae, and gleaming modern structures. It gives more than anything else an honest picture of what defines the city of Sevilla.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page